Rechercher
Contactez-nous Suivez-nous sur Twitter En francais English Language
 

De la Théorie à la pratique





















Freely subscribe to our NEWSLETTER

Newsletter FR

Newsletter EN

Vulnérabilités

Unsubscribe

Sophos warns that Facebook users are continuing to fall for survey scams posted on friends’ walls

August 2010 by Sophos

IT security and data protection firm Sophos has produced a video, warning Facebook users about a new scam that is spreading quickly across the social network claiming to be a link to an article entitled, "I’m NEVER text messaging again since I found this out...".

Despite similar scams over the past month, including one involving a fake "Dislike" button, over 200,000 Facebook users have already "liked" the rogue page. Not only does this help the scammers to earn money, but it also means that at any time the unknown owner of the page can send users an update which could contain an unwanted advertising message or a malicious link.

Sophos has produced a video, demonstrating the attack, which journalists are welcome to embed on their websites:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fb7G...

"Just because it appears that a friend ’likes’ a Facebook page or application, shouldn’t mean it’s safe for you to click and find out more," said Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos. "As soon as a page urges you to share or ’like’ a link to your friends, and asks for personal information, alarm bells should start to ring. Users need to think twice and avoid being sucked into these increasingly widespread scams."

Facebook users that have been affected should delete references to this scam from their wall, to avoid sharing it further with their online friends.




See previous articles

    

See next articles